Facilitate Mission Success through Knowledge Sharing

Orbital Sciences Corporation
May 7-8, 2014

The U.S. space community (industry and government) has formed the Mission Assurance Improvement Workshop (MAIW) to explore and document best practices and craft a common approach to mission assurance for the U.S. space program. The MAIW is a U.S. space program community of practice dedicated to the development and promulgation of proven scientific, engineering, quality, and program management practices related to the U.S. space program's mission success.

The workshop is the culmination of nine months of effort by government and industry subject matter experts who are assembled to address high priority, common challenges faced by the U.S. space community as they strive to address the challenges to mission success. It is designed to enhance the collaboration among U.S. space professionals in the government, industry, and academic elements essential to achieve that goal.

Participation is by invitation only, it is limited to individuals who are identified as subject matter experts by their respective organizations and who have engaged in the response to the identified challenges. U.S. government topic area practitioners are also encouraged to participate.

Keynote Speakers:

Wednesday, May 7
Dr. William F. Ballhaus Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer (Ret.), The Aerospace Corporation

Thursday, May 8
Christopher J. Scolese
Director, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

The 2014
workshop consists of five topic teams:

  • Counterfeit Parts Prevention Guide
    Leads: Dave Meshel, The Aerospace Corporation; and Scott Lichty, Lockheed Martin.*
  • Risk Identification at Program Inception
    Leads: Amy Weir and Andrew Hsu, The Aerospace Corporation; Bill Frazier, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; John McBride, Orbital Sciences Corporation.*   
  • RF Breakdown in Spacecraft Components
    Leads: Tim Graves and Preston Partridge, The Aerospace Corporation; and Jeff Tate, Raytheon Company, Space and Airborne Systems.*
  • Design Integration of Hosted Payloads- Do No Harm Analysis
    Leads: Jack Kawamoto, The Aerospace Corporation; Steve Kuritz, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems; and Ken Dodson, SSL.*
  • Root Cause Investigations Best Practices Guide
    Leads: Ron Duphily, The Aerospace Corporation; and Harold Harder, The Boeing Company.*


*Tentative Outbrief presenters

These five topic teams have been developing preliminary guideline documents, which will be available for substantive review and comment by the community prior to the workshop. If you have not yet received, reviewed, and provided feedback on the document for the topic you will be participating in, please contact

During the May 7-8th plenary session, community experts will review feedback collectively to refine and finalize content of the products and provide recommendations for implementation. Representatives from each topic team will then brief the government and industry leadership on their results.

Welcome Reception: 
Please note that an evening social is scheduled Wednesday, May 7, from 5:30 to 8:00p.m.  at Trump National Golf Club, Washington, D.C. 

Steering Committee:
Chair - Russell Averill, The Aerospace Corporation
Co-Chair – Dave Swanson, Orbital Sciences Corporation
Mike Verzuh, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.
Andrew King, The Boeing Company
John Kowalchik, Lockheed Martin
Josh Lindley, Missile Defense Agency
Thomas Whitmeyer, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Richard Fink, National Reconnaissance Office
Craig Wesser, Northrop Grumman Corporation
John McBride, Orbital Sciences Corporation
Mark Baldwin, Raytheon Company Space and Airborne Systems
Brian Kosinski, SSL
Dave Davis, Space and Missile Systems Center
Thurman Haas, The Aerospace Corporation (Advisor)
Lisa Staub, The Aerospace Corporation (Program Support)
Program Committee:
Chair – Jackie Wyrwitzke, The Aerospace Corporation
Co-Chair – Megan Paulette, Orbital Sciences Corporation
Coordinator – Terita Norton, The Aerospace Corporation
Coordinator - Dan Jarmel, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems
Program Support - Cheryl Sakaizawa, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Lead –Lisa Staub, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Co-Lead – Amanda Johnson, Orbital Sciences Corporation
Arrangements Support - Cheryl Sakaizawa, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Support - Roseanne Villalobos, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Registrar - Trina Kilpatrick, The Aerospace Corporation

Senior leaders from the following government agencies and FFRDC expected:
Missile Defense Agency
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service
National Reconnaissance Office
Space and Missile Systems Center
The Aerospace Corporation

Co-Sponsoring Organizations:
Orbital Science Corporation- David W. Thompson
The Aerospace Corporation - Wanda Austin


This feature is not compatible with Lotus Notes.

  • When

  • Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - Thursday, May 8, 2014
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Eastern Time

  • Where

  • Orbital Sciences Corporation
    45101 Warp Drive
    Dulles, Virginia 20166

Outlook Outlook
iCal iCal
Google Google
Yahoo! Yahoo!