May 5-7, 2015


Please book your lodging early Hotel Information

Facilitate Mission Success through Knowledge Sharing

Lockheed Martin Space Systems

The U.S. space community (industry and government) has formed the Mission Assurance Improvement Workshop (MAIW) to explore and document best practices and craft a common approach to mission assurance for the U.S. space program. The MAIW is a U.S. space program community of practice dedicated to the development and promulgation of proven scientific, engineering, quality, and program management practices related to the U.S. space program's mission success.

The workshop is the culmination of nine months of effort by government and industry subject matter experts who are assembled to address high priority, common challenges faced by the U.S. space community as they strive to address the challenges to mission success. 

Participation is by invitation only and limited to individuals who are identified as subject matter experts by their respective organizations. U.S. government topic area practitioners are also encouraged to participate.

Keynote Speaker(s):

Wanda Sigur, Vice President and Deputy, Civil Space
Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company

Dave W. Madden, Executive Director, Space and Missile Systems Center
Air Force Space Command, Los Angeles Air Force Base 

The 2015
workshop consists of four topic teams:

  • RF Breakdown Prevention Standard Development - Part 2
  • ASIC/FPGA Malicious Attack Mitigation
  • Design Review Process Improvements
  • Process Approach to Determining Quality Inspection Deployment

These four topic teams will be developing preliminary guideline documents, which will be available for substantive review and comment by the community prior to the workshop. 

During the May 7 plenary session, community experts will review disposition feedback, collectively finalize content of the products, and provide recommendations for implementation. Representatives from each topic team will then brief the government and industry leadership on their results.

Evening Social: 
Wednesday, May 6
Lockheed Martin Corporation 

Steering Committee:
Chair - Todd Nygren, The Aerospace Corporation
Co-Chair - John Kowalchik, Lockheed Martin Corporation
Eli Minson, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.
Robert W. Adkisson, The Boeing Company
Brian Reilly, Defense Contract Management Agency
Josh Lindley, Missile Defense Agency
Thomas Whitmeyer, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Marv LeBlanc, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Richard Fink, National Reconnaissance Office
Craig Wesser, Northrop Grumman Corporation
David Swanson, Orbital Sciences Corporation
Mark Baldwin, Raytheon Company Space and Airborne Systems
Brian Kosinski, SSL
Dave Davis, Space and Missile Systems Center
Thurman Haas, The Aerospace Corporation (Advisor)
Holly Stewart, The Aerospace Corporation (Program Support)
Program Committee:
Chair - Jackie Wyrwitzke, The Aerospace Corporation
Co-Chair - Dan Yasukawa, Lockheed Martin Corporation
Coordinator - Terita Norton, The Aerospace Corporation
Coordinator - Gail Johnson-Roth, The Aerospace Corporation
Coordinator - Tracy Rico, The Boeing Company
Program Support - Cheryl Sakaizawa, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Lead - Holly Stewart, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Co-Lead - Mary Jo Higgason, Lockheed Martin Corporation
Arrangements Support - Cheryl Sakaizawa, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Support - Roseanne Villalobos, The Aerospace Corporation
Arrangements Registrar - Trina Kilpatrick, The Aerospace Corporation


Senior leaders from the following government agencies and FFRDC expected:
Missile Defense Agency
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Reconnaissance Office
Space and Missile Systems Center
The Aerospace Corporation

Co-Sponsoring Organizations: 
Lockheed Martin Corporation

The Aerospace Corporation


This feature is not compatible with Lotus Notes.

  • When

  • Tuesday, May 5, 2015 - Thursday, May 7, 2015
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Pacific Time

  • Where

  • Lockheed Martin Space Systems
    1111 Lockheed Martin Way
    Sunnyvale, California 94089

Outlook Outlook
iCal iCal
Google Google
Yahoo! Yahoo!