2017 AEOP Presidential Scholar Nomination

This event is closed. If you have any questions, please contact the planner directly.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President (Executive Order 11155), to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. Program applications are done by invitation only and the students must either be graduates or receive their diploma between January and August of the program year. Awards are presented annually at the White House in June.

Recent efforts have been made to diversify the pool of applicants which is currently based on the top SAT andACT test achievement scores. The Department of Education (ED) is partnering with AEOP and other like-minded programs in providing a more diverse school of candidates as distinguished from the traditional method of nomination selections.  As a result of the association between AEOP and the Presidential Scholars Program, AEOP is establishing the AEOP Presidential Scholar Award as a supplemental award available to recognize students who compete by presenting their STEM research.  The criteria for the AEOP Presidential Award is designed to identify STEM-oriented students who have demonstrated significant independent effort, persistence and accomplishments despite barriers, hurdles to success or limited access to resources.  Persistence, problem solving, level of effort and leadership characteristics are given higher weight than technical proficiency in STEM competition.

AEOP invites Directors, Teachers, and Mentors to nominate individual students for the 2017 AEOP Presidential Scholar Award.  All nominations are due on December 9, 2016. Qualifying students include high school seniors graduating between January and June 2017.


Outlook Outlook
iCal iCal
Google Google
Yahoo! Yahoo!