Awards Gala Info Sheet

As of September 13th, the

National Indian Health Board Heroes in Health Gala is sold out.  

Please contact the NIHB Awards Committee for more information.


 Come join the National Indian Health Board for an event honoring national, regional and local champions in Indian Health on Wednesday, September 19th at 6pm.

The event will feature a meal prepared by “The Native Chef” Jason Champagne with bison generously donated by the InterTribal Buffalo Council.

The dress for this event is evening attire or traditional dress.

 Tickets: $75

Table of Eight Seats: $500

The NIHB congratulates all of the award winners

for their invaluable service to Indian Country!

Jake White Crow Award - This award recognizes an individual or
organization with outstanding lifetime achievements in elevating health care
advocacy, raising awareness or affecting positive change for American Indian
and Alaska Native health care.

 The Honorable Tom Cole, Chickasaw Nation, Oklahoma City Area

Youth Leadership Award - Commends a young American Indian or Alaska Native aged 14-22 for their leadership and outstanding efforts to increase the quality of healthcare or awareness of health issues within their peer group or community on a local or national level.

Cante Waste Win Zephier, Ihanktonwan Dakota/Dine', Great Plains Area

National Impact Award - Honors an individual or organization whose work has made an impact on American Indian/Alaska Native health care on a national level. 

Ursula Bauer, PhD, MPH, Centers for Disease Control, Albuquerque Area

Chief Lynn Malerba, Mohegan Tribe of Connecticut, Nashville Area

Shannon Dial, PhD, Chickasaw Nation Medical Center, Oklahoma City Area

Angie Wilson, Pit River Tribe, Phoenix Area

John Stephens, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, Portland Area

Chester Antone, Tohono O'Odham, Tucson Area

Area/Regional Impact Award - Honors an individual or organization whose work has contributed to improving American Indian/Alaska Native health care or affected change on an area or regional basis.

Amy Foote, Executive Chef, NANA Management, Alaska Area

Cynthia Guzman, Kewa Pueblo Health Corporation, Albuquerque Area

David Larson, Continuum of Care Director, Oneida Nation (WI), Bemidji Area

Dorothy Dupree, Fort Peck Tribes, Area Director, Indian Health Service, Billings Area

Judge Cynthia Gomez, Tule River Yokut Tribe, California Area

Collaborative Research Center for American Indian Health (CRCAIH Tribal Partners), Great Plains Area

USET Tribal Epidemiology Center, Nashville Area

Building Communities of HOPE Team, Navajo Area

Dr. Charles Grim, Cherokee Nation, Oklahoma City Area

Victoria Stevens, MD, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Phoenix Area

Andrew Joseph Jr., Confederated Tribes of Colville, Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board, Portland Area

Cynthia Manuel, RN and Tricia Logan, RN, Tohono O'Odham Nation Health Care, Tucson Area

Local Impact Award - Recognizes an individual or organization whose work has affected change or impacted health care on the local and or Tribal level. 

Cyrus Harris, Native Village of Kotzebue, Alaska Area

Robert Heinrichs, Native Village of Eyak, Alaska Area

Santo Domingo Health Board, Kewa Pueblo Tribe, Albuquerque Area

Savannah Smith, Navajo, Albuquerque Area

Misty Cook, Stockbridge-Munsee Health and Wellness Center, Bemidji Area

Susan Waukau, Menominee Aging and Long Term Care Services, Bemidji Area

Ernesto Padilla, Lake County Tribal Health Corporation, California Area

Pit River Health Service, California Area

Camilla Barajas, Winnebago Tribal Diabetes Program, Great Plains Area

Yankton Sioux Tribe, Great Plains Area

Carmaleta Monteith, Cherokee Indian Hospital Authority, Nashville Area

Haudenosaunee Providers Coalition, Nashville Area

Valencia Edgewater, Navajo Nation, Designs for Learning, Navajo Area

Leonard Shirley Jr., Tsehootsooi Medical Center, Navajo Area

Kristie Brooks, Choctaw Nation Health Services, Oklahoma City Area

David Sullivan, Kiowa Tribe, Anadarko Public Schools, Oklahoma City Area

San Carlos Apache Healthcare Corporation, Phoenix Area

Washoe Tribal Health Center, Phoenix Area

Dr. Randy Blome, Grand Ronde Health and Wellness Center, Portland Area

Stormy Howell, Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe, Klallam Counseling Services, Portland Area

Modular Bathroom Team, Tucson Area





Thank you to our sponsor:

ITBC together


  • When

  • Wednesday, September 19, 2018
    6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
    Central Time

  • Where

  • Devon Energy Building, Vast, 50th Floor
    333 W Sheridan Ave
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

Outlook Outlook
iCal iCal
Google Google
Yahoo! Yahoo!