Subject to change.

  • Tuesday, April 7, 2020
    8:00 am  -  8:45 am
    Continental Breakfast
    8:00 am  -  8:45 am
    8:45 am  -  8:50 am
    Welcome and Overview of Day
    Michelle Buck, APRN
    APRN Senior Policy Advisor, Nursing Regulation, NCSBN
    8:50 am  -  9:30 am
    Nurse Practitioner Education in Canada
    Anne Marie Shin, MN MSc (QIPS), RN
    Manager, Education Program, College of Nurses of Ontario

    9:30 am  -  10:15 am
    Faculty and Student Perspectives of a Graduate Online Delivery Model
    Melanie Hardin-Pierce, DNP, APRN, RN, ACNP-BC
    Associate Professor, Adult-Gerontology/Acute Care DNP Track Coordinator, University of Kentucky
    10:15 am  -  10:45 am
    Networking Break
    10:45 am  -  11:30 am
    Competency-based Education
    Joan Stanley, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, FAANP
    Chief Academic Officer, American Association of Colleges of Nursing
    11:30 am  -  12:30 pm
    12:30 pm  -  1:30 pm
    DNP vs. MSN Entry Level for APRN Practice
    Shirley Brekken, MS, RN
    Executive Director, Minnesota Board of Nursing
    Lorna Finnegan, PhD, FNP, FAAN
    Dean and Professor, Loyola University Chicago Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing
    Eileen Fry-Bowers, PhD, JD, RN, CPNP, FAAN
    Health Policy and Nursing Education, Research and Practice Consultant
    1:30 pm  -  2:30 pm
    APRN Fellowship/Residency
    Sherley Belizaire, DNP, PMHNP-BC, FNP-BC
    Nurse Practitioner, Mental Health Services  
    Director, Nurse Practitioner Residency Program -Mental Health, VA Boston Healthcare System
    Adjunct Clinical Faculty, William F. Connell School of Nursing, Boston College

    Nathaniel Shekem, PA-C, MPAS 
    Clinical Assistant Professor, APP Residency Assistant Program Director, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics
    2:30 pm  -  3:30 pm
    APRN Distance Education
    Heather Healy, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, PMP
    Education Program Administrator, Arizona Board of Nursing
    Diane Thompkins, MS, RN
    Manager, Accreditation Certification Department, American Nurses Credentialing Center

    Terri Weaver, PhD, RN, FAAN, ATSF
    Dean and Professor, Department of Biobehavioral Health Science, College of Nursing
    Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Allergy
    Department of Medicine, College of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago

    George Zangaro, PhD, RN, FAAN
    Dean, School of Nursing, Walden University
    3:30 pm  -  3:45 pm
    Closing Remarks
    Michelle Buck