Academic Festival 2014

Join us in congratulating our
2014 Award Recipients & Honorees

during the
Opening Ceremony and Awards Presentation
beginning at 9:30 a.m. in the Joyce Berger Cowin Auditorium and the
Distinguished Alumni Awards Luncheon
beginning at 12:15 p.m. in the Grace Dodge Dining Hall.

The 2014 Distinguished Alumni Awardees

Dr. James Gordon,JG Ed.D. ’85, is an internationally recognized physical therapy educator and researcher, and he currently serves as the Associate Dean and Chair of the Biokinesiology and Physical Therapy Program at the University of Southern California. Previously, Gordon was the Chair of the Physical Therapy Program at New York Medical College, which he started in 1996. Gordon is a fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association and has been one of the foremost thinkers in the area of motor learning and its application to persons with neurological conditions. Gordon holds an Ed.D. in Motor Learning as well as his M.E and M.A. from TC, in addition to a B.A. from the State University of New York Downstate Medical Center.


Dr. David W. JohnsonDJ, Ed.D. ’66, full professor in the Department of Educational Psychology at the University of Minnesota, founded the Cooperative Learning Center at the University of Minnesota and established a network of school districts that conducted multi-year efforts to implement cooperative learning and the cooperative school. Johnson has authored over 500 research articles and book chapters and over 50 books, which have been translated into over 17 languages; he is also the former editor of the American Educational Research Journal (1981-1983). Johnson joined SANE in the early 1960s and has been involved in peace activism since then. Johnson holds an Ed.D. and M.A. in Clinical Psychology from TC and a B.A. in English from Ball State University.



Dr. Deborah KennyDK, Ph.D. ’94, founder and CEO of Harlem Village Academies, is widely regarded as one of the most influential educational entrepreneurs in the country. Under her leadership, Harlem Village Academies has become a national model for education reform. Named by Oprah Magazine as one of the most powerful women in the country and recognized by Esquire in its annual “Best and Brightest” issue, Kenny is also the author of Born to Rise: A Story of Children and Teachers Reaching Their Highest Potential, which recounts her deeply personal dream to pursue social justice for our nation’s most vulnerable children. Kenny holds a Ph.D. and M.Phil. in Comparative and International Education, as well as an M.A. from Teachers College and a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania.




Dr. Kate Parry, KPEd.D. ’86, is a full professor in linguistics in the English Department at Hunter College. Parry received a TESOL Research Interest Section/Newbury House Distinguished Research Award in 1993. Parry trained in Uganda as a teacher of English and History and taught in an up-country secondary school for five years. She returned briefly to teach at Makerere University, and since has returned regularly, pursuing research in literacy practices and promoting literacy projects. Parry, Chair of the Uganda Community Libraries Association, has set up a library project near a trading center called Kitengesa, which she supports by raising funds in New York. Parry holds an Ed.D. and Ed.M. in Applied Linguistics from TC, a B.A. with Honors and an M.A. in History from Girton College in Cambridge, England, and a Dip. Ed. from Makerere College in Kampala, Uganda.

Distinguished Alumni Awards are awarded by the Alumni Association upon alumni who have exhibited extraordinary impact in their respective fields since graduating from TC.

The 2014 Early Career Award Recipient



Dr. Eric Shyman, Ed.D. ’09, Assistant Professor of Special Education in the School of Education at Dowling College, is focused on teacher preparation in Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), particularly in validating comprehensive approaches for educating individuals with ASD.  Shyman recently published the book Beyond Equality in the American Classroom: The Case for Inclusive Education (2013) and is Board Certified in Special Education by the American Association of Special Education Professionals. Shyman holds his Ed.D. in Special Education, Intellectual Disabilities/Autism Studies with a concentration in Instructional Leadership from TC, an M.S. in Special Education, Competency in Autism Spectrum Disorders (CASE) from Long Island University and a B.A. from the State University of New York at Albany.


Early Career Awards are awarded by the Alumni Association upon alumni who have shown promise as a rising star in their field by making a significant impact within 10 years of graduation from TC.

Special Thanks to Awards & Recognition Committee

Distinguished Alumni & Early Career Award Recipients are selected by the Alumni Association's Awards & Recognition committee. Nominations are accepted through October annually and reviewed by the committee for final recommendation. We would like to thank this year's committee led by Co-Chairs, Mitchell Thompson (MA '96) and Diana Newman (EdD '81) and committee members: Marion Boultbee (EdD '96),  Philip Geiger (Ed.D. '81), Patrick McGuire (EdD'94), Tara Niraula (EdD '02) and Pola Rosen (EdD '80).

For more information about how to nominate an alumnus for either of these awards or for a list of past recipients, please visit

Past Award Recipients

Here are just a few of the many faces of our past honorees at recent Academic Festival celebrations. Please visit for the complete archive of past award recipients.

Outlook Outlook
iCal iCal
Google Google
Yahoo! Yahoo!