Thursday, October 18
6:00 - 8:00 PM - Washington Room

Teacher of the Year Banquet Info


Each year, one South Dakota teacher is selected as the state‚Äôs Teacher of the Year. This person serves as a spokesperson for teachers and for the needs of children in classrooms across the state, and represents South Dakota in the National Teacher of the Year competition. The winner will be selected from the following regional Teachers of the Year: 

  • Region #1: Anita Boeck, math, Arlington High School
  • Region #2: Sarah Darling, first grade, Brandon Elementary School
  • Region #3: Erica Boomsma, fourth grade, Washington 4-5 Center (Huron)
  • Region #4: Lisa Zahn, music, Mobridge-Pollock School District
  • Region #5: Mary Day, business education and computer technology, Belle Fourche High School 

The South Dakota Teacher of the Year Program is made possible by the National Teacher of the Year Program. The national program is a project of The Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with the Voya Foundation and People to People Ambassador Programs. To learn more about the South Dakota Teacher of the Year Program, click here.

A number of teacher recognition awards will be presented and the banquet will conclude with the announcement of the 2019 South Dakota Teacher of the Year.


  • The banquet is available at no additional cost for conference participants, as long as they have indicated their intention to attend on the registration form.
  • Banquet tickets may be purchased for $30 by anyone not attending the conference (simply select 'banquet ticket only' as your registration option).