National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year 2017

National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year 2017

Welcome to the application for the
National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year 2017!

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association, Dow Jones News Fund, the Poynter Institute and The Wall Street Journal are excited to consider your application for this year's selection process.

In addition to the one (1) Teacher of the Year, an additional eight high school journalism teachers and media advisers will be named Distinguished Advisers and Special Recognition Advisers for their work during the 2016-2017 academic year.

Please read the details below ("How to apply" and "Selection Process") carefully prior to submitting your application.
All winners will be notified on or before January 8, 2018.


How to apply 

We seek those with at least three years’ experience, who have been honored as lifetime achievement, state or regional winners by local, state and regional groups.

Professional media and press associations are invited to forward candidates from their competitions. The nominee must complete the online application, which will ask for the electronic submission of the following:

  • up to three (3) letters of support;
  • an updated résumé; and
  • a color head shot, sized to 120 x 120 pixels, uploaded as a JPEG or TIFF file

After submitting their application, we will ask advisers to print and hybrid publications to send six (6) copies of their single best newspaper/newsmagazine issue from the 2016-2017 academic year to the CSPA office in New York City.

Advisers to digital and hybrid publications will submit their publication URL as part of the application process.

The deadline to submit your completed application is Monday, November 27, 2017.


Selection Process

An advisory panel will review the applications. It will weigh each teacher’s service in local, state or national organizations, personal awards, the quality of their students, their philosophy and approach to student press rights and ethics. Applicants are also asked to identify an issue they would like to address as Teacher of the Year.

The teacher with the highest score is selected Teacher of the Year, the four teachers with the next highest scores are named Distinguished Advisers. Special Recognition Advisers are chosen for their good showing against the criteria listed above.

Winning teachers will be guests of CSPA and asked to speak on the program of their 94th annual Spring Convention on the Columbia University campus in New York City from Wednesday, March 14 until Friday, March 16, 2018.


Please click on the button below to start the process.