AIC 

 

Thank you for your interest in the Aware in Care Ambassadors Program!

 

A total of 20-30 Aware in Care Ambassadors be invited to be part of the 100 Aware in Care Ambassadors spread across the country. These volunteers will train and work together in their communities to educate others on the Aware in Care campaign and to lay the groundwork for implementing systematic changes in their local hospitals. We encourage all interested people with Parkinson's, current and former care partners, and clinical/fitness professionals to apply. 

 

Selected Ambassadors will be coached to create their own unique goals based on their interests, experiences, and any health/caregiving/professional time constraints. Our philosophy for this program is that the time commitment will ebb and flow as life situations change, and we are flexible and understanding so long as Ambassadors keep us updated on any changes in their availability.

 

All applicants should plan to be available for the live online training, held each Thursday in September: 

September 2nd, 9th, 16th, 23rd, and 30th

1-4 pm EDT /  12-3 pm CDT / 11 am - 2 pm MDT / 10 am -  1 pm PDT / 9 am – 12 pm AKDT / 7 – 10 am HST / 6 – 9 am SST 

Attendance on September 2nd is mandatory (barring an emergency situation), but accommodations can be made based on scheduling constraints that are approved ahead of the training. 

The last hour of each training session (3-4 pm EDT) will consist of a meeting for one of the five regions* only. Trainees from other regions will not be asked to participate during these meetings. 

September 2 - Northeast regional breakout

Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington DC, West Virginia

September 9 -Southeast regional breakout

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, US Virgin Islands

September 16 – Midwest regional breakout

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin

September 23 - Great Plains regional breakout

Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas

September 30 - West** regional breakout

Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona***, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

 

This application will be open through June 30th. Our goal is to make final decisions by July 31st and to notify all applicants in the first two weeks of August. 

 

*Applicants from outside of the United States will be considered, but our primary focus (and expertise for the program) is on improving hospitalization within the context of the American healthcare system. 


**Unfortunately, we are not currently able to accommodate the time difference for applicants from Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands, but potential Ambassadors from these areas are encouraged to reach out to Courtney at CMalburg@Parkinson.org so that we can work towards accommodating the time difference for future trainings. 

 

***Applicants from Arizona should note that this training is being held during daylight savings time, during which Mountain Standard Time aligns with Pacific Daylight Time